Shroud for a Nightingale

The young women of Nightingale House are there to learn to nurse and comfort the suffering. But when one of the students plays patient in a demonstration of nursing skills, she is horribly, brutally killed.

Among the blackmail, lies and secrets of the Nightingale nursing school, another student dies equally mysteriously, and it is up to Adam Dalgliesh to unmask a killer who has decided to prescribe murder as the cure for all ills.

In Shroud for a Nightingale, P. D. James plots a complex story of secrets, blackmail and suspicion.

Shroud for a Nightingale was adapted for television in 1984, starring Roy Marsden, Joss Ackland and Sheila Allen.

Book details

Series: Adam Dalgliesh

Series reading order: 4

First published: 1971

Faber & Faber