A Taste for Death

Two men lie in a welter of blood in the vestry of St Matthew’s Church, Paddington, their throats brutally slashed. One is Sir Paul Berowne, a baronet and recently resigned Minister of the Crown, the other an alcoholic vagrant. Commander Adam Dalgliesh and his team, set up to investigate crimes of particular sensitivity, are faced with a case of extraordinary complexity as they discover the Berowne family’s veneer of prosperous gentility conceals ugly and dangerous family secrets.

In A Taste for Death, P. D. James explores the mysterious and intense emotions responsible for the unique crime of murder, with authority and sensitivity.

A Taste For Death won the Silver Dagger award for crime fiction and was adapted for television in 1988, starring Roy Marsden, Wendy Hiller and Fiona Fullerton.

Book details

Series: Adam Dalgliesh

Series reading order: 7

First published: 1986

Faber & Faber